A note on the occasion of being made Member of the Order of Australia

Tuan Nguyen
5 min readJan 25, 2022

I am incredibly honored and humbled to be appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). It came with a total surprise. But it also came at a very special time to me, because 40 years ago on this day (26/1/1982) I came to Australia as a ‘boat people’.

The citation for my honor reads [1]: “For significant service to medical research, particularly in the field of osteoporosis and fracture prevention, and to tertiary education.”

I am absolutely delighted that the importance of medical research is acknowledged through this honor. I am also happy that my continued efforts to improve health outcomes for people affected by osteoporosis have been recognized in this way.

I would like to take this opportunity to say a few words on osteoporosis, medical research, and higher education.

Osteoporosis is a common bone disease that affects one-third of women and one-tenth of men aged 50 years and older. Osteoporosis causes bone fractures, and fracture increases the risk of premature mortality and hence reduced life expectancy. My overall goal is to improve life expectancy for people affected by osteoporosis. My research focuses on precision risk assessment to empower people to take preventive actions to reduce their own risk of osteoporosis.

During my 40 yr in Australia, I have spent 30 yr at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research and 6 yr at UTS. My affiliation with the Institute began with a…

--

--

Tuan Nguyen

osteoporosis | epidemiology | genetics | biostatistics | data enthusiast